Condo/high rise inspections and reporting
New state law requires reporting and inspections for condos, co-ops, apartments
Your condo or cooperative building is now required to file identifying information with the state's Division of Florida Condominium, Timeshares and Mobile Homes by January 1, 2023, and will likely require a safety inspection to be filed with the Village of North Palm Beach Building Official.
In response to the Surfside condo collapse in Miami-Dade County in June of 2021, Florida has a new law requiring a periodic building inspection for many condominium, cooperative and apartment building structures.
Village residents who live in buildings three stories or taller are asked to ensure that their building manger, property association manager, homeowner association manager, or other person, board or committee that oversees building maintenance, is aware of the new law and is responding appropriately.
- The law requires that a condominium or cooperative must have a "milestone inspection" performed for each building that is 3 stories or more by December 31st of the year in which the building reaches 30 years of age, and again every 10 years thereafter.
- If the building is located within 3 miles of a coastline, the inspection must be performed by December 31 of the year in which the building reaches 25 years of age, and every 10 years thereafter.
- If a building’s certificate of occupancy was issued on or before July 1, 1992, the building’s initial milestone inspection must be performed before December 31, 2024.
Two phases for inspections
The milestone inspection consists of two phases: The first phase is a visual inspection by a licensed architect or engineer: If substantial structural deterioration is identified, the second phase commences, including a full assessment of the areas of structural distress.
Submit inspection reports to Village Building Official
Phase one and two reports must be submitted to the Village of North Palm Beach building official. For questions or concerns about the requirements, email the Village Community Development Department at firstname.lastname@example.org.
REQUIRED: File basic building and contact information with state by January 1st
The new state law also requires all affected buildings (those 3 stories or higher) to report basic identifying information by January 1st. Florida Statute 718.501(3)(a) requires all condominium and cooperative associations with buildings 3 stories or higher to file a report with important identifying information with the Division of Florida Condominium, Timeshares and Mobile Homes on or before January 1, 2023. The Division is part of the Florida Department of Business & Professional Regulation (DBPR).
The information needed by by the State Division is:
- Contact Name, Phone Number, and Email Address
- Name of Project
- Project License # ( To find license # please click here)
- The number of buildings on the condominium property that are three (3) stories or higher in height.
- The total number of units in all such buildings
- The addresses of all such buildings.
- The counties in which all such buildings are located.
How to file the information with the State DBPR
To file the required information, which creates a record of your building with the Division of Florida Condominium, Timeshares and Mobile Homes, visit the DBPR's Condominiums and Cooperatives-Buiding Reporting page.